Do not ASK for followers. They will Come in time.

First and foremost I must add this fantastic, well written, and informative food blog that I have found! It’s called Eat the Love . I cannot wait to read more from Irvin. He started baking (minus the blogging) at 9 years old because he had a passion for it. Today,  he is more successful obviously, but that passion has never changed. To be able to turn your passion into a profession is incredibly inspiring. His article gave some important blog tips that I encourage people to read here . The blog is called “Food Blogging 101- How to Start a Food Blog.”

If I’m like many of you I can relate to the excitement of wanting followers.  This blog is new and yet I often check and see how many people have subscribed. This morning, while looking through articles about blogging I got a bit of a slap in the face.  It makes sense thinking about it but not something I realized off-hand.  Those that blog should not go around reviewing other people’s blogs or emailing the creator of the blog with the intent to throw their blog name out there. This comes across often as annoying and at times SPAM.

So what you should do that goes across better….

1. If you post on someones blog, it’s OK to include your website if there is a specific section for it. Usually it is located right under “Email Address:”

2. Also, it goes a long way to post a meaningful comment on someone’s blog.  I’m not talking, hey ur blogs cool heres mine …   I’m referring to referring to actual things the person posted about in their blog and discussing how it effected.

The most important thing is just to blog about anything and everything that interests you. One must find their voice and be able to convey their point clearly to others. No one has immediate followers! Also, even professionals blogs in the beginning were not top notch.  Perfection does not come overnight, if at all. Therefore, instead of worrying about what others think, just focus on yourself.  In the end this will be much more rewarding. I love the saying “Do what you love…the money will come.”

4 thoughts on “Do not ASK for followers. They will Come in time.

  1. AWESOME! I find that I remind myself often that I did not start a blog for other people – I started it for me. I love it, and I love what I’m learning while writing. I do have to slap myself a little some days when I check my stats page more times than I’d care to admit 😐 You have a new follower, btw 🙂

    1. THANKS!! Love your page too I am now following 🙂 I’m glad my post hit home. When I read Eat the Love blog post on that topic I was like WOW yeah that makes so much sense and yet im doing the complete obvious haha. Look forward to more posts from ya! Take Care.

    2. THANKS!! Love your page too I am now following 🙂 I’m glad my post hit home. When I read Eat the Love blog post on that topic I was like WOW yeah that makes so much sense and yet im doing the complete obvious haha. Look forward to more posts from ya! Take Care.

Leave a Reply

