Getting Help

I just want to post a quick one this morning on something I feel that I’ve accomplished.  My entire life I’ve had counselors. Some have been nice while others quite judgemental and out there.  My very close friend and I were talking the other night and I admitted to her that I felt “I was getting worse”. My symptoms include:

  • depression
  • anxiety
  • nightmares
  • racing heart
  • crying
  • anger
  • feeling numb (even towards people I love)
  • and on the worst days…a desire to keep going

She told me that I just needed to find a counselor that dealt with my specific condition. That they would be able to come up with alternative methods and help. I love her for knowing me and believing that there is hope for me. She knows who she is ❤

Today, I made the step and found the name of a counselor who specializes in PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder). I sent her an email and told the counselor exactly what was going on and what I needed help with.  It was going to let me know if she was interested in helping me. Within maybe 15 minutes I got a call back from a secretary said she had passed on my email to the counselor, it’s exactly the type of condition that they specialize in, and that they would like me to come in this weekend! I cannot tell you how relieved and thankful I am for this.  I honestly do not know what I am going to have to go through to get better but I know that at this point I would walk over hot coals barefoot.

I’m telling you all about this NOT to make you feel sorry for me but to let you know that “happy girls” have real world problems. My page is colorful and upbeat a lot of the time. And that IS part of who I am. But there is another part that is dark and sad.  A part that wants to let people know its OK to admit you are NOT OK. And that getting help is not something to be embarrassed about. In the beginning, sure it’s not fun to talk about your past with someone you do not know. But the trick is:

  1. Understand that there is always hope but one must ask for help FIRST.
  2. Write down some of the symptoms you are experiencing (depression, anger, violence, sadness, nightmares, nervous, etc) . For us visual learners this really helps us SEE and UNDERSTAND that we are not ok.
  3. Know that counseling is nothing to be ashamed of! Yes, people get paid to listen to your problems but they are professionals who are trained in stress management. They have ideas & an understanding that friends normally do not have.
  4. Find a counselor you can connect with be it male or female. If you don’t like the first one, there are thousands of others in your area! Keep trying. I went to my last one for probably a year plus before I realized I had gotten as much out of that relationship as I could.
  5. Give counseling a chance. Get through the first few sessions and then evaluate whether it’s benefiting you or not.
  6. If you need the emotional support, ask a friend/significant other/or spouse to come. If the answer is “no” from any of those three you need to re-evaluate the people in your life immediately.

For those who are curious about PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Dissorder) I encourage you to check here for a full definition and examples. Here is a quick quote from the page :

“The traumatic events most often associated with PTSD for men are rape, combat exposure, childhood neglect, and childhood physical abuse.  The most traumatic events for women are rape, sexual molestation, physical attack, being threatened with a weapon, and childhood physical abuse.About 30 percent of the men and women who have spent time in war zones experience PTSD. An estimated 7.8 percent of Americans will experience PTSD at some point in their lives, with women (10.4%) twice as likely as men (5%) to develop PTSD.”

So hopefully later I will be posting a new recipe or idea! haha. For today though, it’s important for me to get across a very different point.

One thought on “Getting Help

Leave a Reply

