Moment of Silence

When I get finished reading a book, it’s as if I must take a moment of silence for all the characters in which I must say goodbye too.  It’s ironic how so many of us get frustrated because a book feels as if it’s taking forever to finish. And yet, if it’s a good book, there is a feeling of dread when we come upon the last paragraph. A feeling of “this is it”…”this is the end”.

Tonight, I finished  “The Last Kestrel” by Jill McGivering.  I feel as if I suffered, sacrificed, and mourned along with these characters. McGivering uses vivid detail to describe Afghanistan’s unending war.

I had a moment of silence. Unfortunately, I lost many of my characters before the book actually ended.

moment of silence

Leave a Reply

