Follow The Leader…or not

Hello Friends,

ducks

I have a few “follower” questions which I am hoping you can help me out with.  I’m curious to know..

  • Do  you “follow” everyone who follows you?
  • If so, why or why not?
  • What about someones blog makes you want to “follow” them through EMAIL?

 

Here is my thing, I have many people who follow me (which I love!).   I always try to follow people back unless something seems off about their blog or blog picture.  I’m sure you know what I am referring too….those profile pictures that look like the person just got out of a prison camp haha. Anyway,  lately I’ve been wanting to get more involved with my follower’s blogs. However, I have followed so many people out of respect for them following me, that I’m having a hard time finding the blogs that I legitmately followed because we shared something. Whether it be a mutual understanding, hobbies, photography, DIY, motivation, past hardships, etc.

I know the great majority of us want followers! 🙂 But at the end of the day, do we want a high number of followers who don’t all participate in our blog (or read it for that matter), or a lower number of people who do take the time to stop by and say hi or browse through our material every now and then.   Here is my thing, I’m all about following people & following them back! If I’m being honest here though, I don’t foresee myself setting aside 20 minutes of my day to read about (example) comics, star wars, animated characters, etc.  It’s not because I don’t appreciate your writing! It’s just that we are humans and by nature we are attracted to things that we personally find appealing.

The following people through email thing is something I’m considering cutting back on as well. I hate to say this, but to follow you through email I literally need to know you by first name and have a desire to know what’s happening on your page before I go to bed. I know I set this bar really high but again, I follow a lot of blogs and cannot do the same through email. I would be SWAMPED with updates. If only I had more time to read everything! 😦  Anyone else feel this frustration?

So friends….hoping you can help me out with these questions above!  Thanks in advance.  ❤

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Follow The Leader…or not

  1. Hi Jenny,

    This is something that a lot of bloggers, professional and otherwise, struggle to answer. And for the same reasons.

    I don’t follow everyone who follows my blog. I’d love to, but there’s only so much time in a day. I’m a freelance writer and can’t afford to spend hours each day keeping up with everyone.

    I’d also rather have a smaller following of people that stop by, say hello, leave a comment or a “Like” than legions of people who don’t bother to read my stuff.

    Those that I do follow, I prefer to follow through email so that each time that person posts something, I get it in my inbox where I can decide if it’s something I want to read based on the subject line. If it’s not, I delete the email and don’t worry about it. If it is, I have a link (in the email) to refer to at my leisure.

    If I follow someone’s blog, it’s because there’s something about their blog (creativity, voice, helpful hints, motivation, etc.) that resonates with me and makes me look forward to more. But I don’t expect them to follow my blog in return. For the same reason I may not follow someone else’s.

    Hope that helps. I know it can be a difficult balance to find.

  2. I certainly don’t follow everyone who follows me. I love that someone likes my blog and wants to follow along but that doesn’t mean that I want to read what they write. I follow who I like and leave it at that. For the e-mail follows, I really value people who follow me by e-mail. They get, on average, one e-mail a day sent on my behalf. I follow some blogs by e-mail but really it’s the homeschool blogs that have great resources or the very few blogs that I love to read everything of theirs and don’t want to miss a single thing. I follow some blogs that don’t follow me back and I respect that I may not be what interests them. I still like what they write through.

    Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

