20’s = HELL

I can’t express how much I have NOT enjoyed being in my 20’s. I sure hope it gets a hell of a lot better in my 30’s. I always say that though and then things get worse.  According the movie “13 Going On 30” things should be looking up in the next 5 years! For those who have not seen this movie, it’s definitely worth watching!! (if you like girly chick flicks!)

13Goingon30

 Being in your 20’s is just SO confusing.  At least for me anyway.  I feel like during this age we are struggling to find out who we are, where we want to go in life, becoming independent, experiencing heart-break, moving out, etc. And all the while our friends are  going in completely different directions than we are.  I feel like I am trying to hold my life together but everything is coming apart regardless. I’m struggling to understand where people are coming from, the things they are saying, and what I should be doing at this point in my life. Everything feels unbelievably frustrating and sad.

If only I could just wish myself into another age…….

wish

I keep telling myself that all of these things will pass. That this pain and struggle that I’m dealing with will not be forever.  When I can’t afford to cut my hair and buy bare necessities I just get really depressed. Today, I wanted to get icecream with my friends so I literally had to take a few dollars out of our savings change jar to be able to do that. FML

sorry just having a bad day.

5 thoughts on “20’s = HELL

  1. Sorry to hear you are having a rough time. I remember going through that in my early 20s. Things change, people change, and you’re not ready for it. And many of the decisions you make in your 20s affect you the rest of your life (college, career, marriage, etc.). One thing that helped me was having older, wiser women in my life who had already gone through it to give me good, sound advice. In the meantime, keep your chin up and know that it does get easier in your 30s….well….until you have kids. 😉

  2. yup. I hated my 20s too. I even looked awful. I felt older at 28 than I do at 34. My mum said that it doesn’t even start to get good until your reach 35. Good luck!

  3. I think everyone in their twenties can relate to this post at one point or another. I know I have those days, too. It’s definitely nice to think that our thirties will be even better, a la a 13 Going 30 (such a great, feel good movie).

  4. I feel this. I was definitely operating under the serious misconception that the twenties were this super fun, easy breezy part of your life. Maybe in retrospect they will be? But right now, I’m like “wait, whaaaat…?” The only thing that has helped me is to just give in to the fact that this is apparently kind of a difficult, tumultuous time in my life, and that it must somehow be necessary for me to go through in order to come out the other side. And blogging. Blogging helps 🙂

  5. Don’t worry, Jen. Things only get worse.
    Hahaaa….

    On a good note! Check this out!
    I’m 80 % sure I’ll be transferring to the University of New Hampshire (online, of course) after obtaining my Associates in Behavioral Sciences. (Which will be very soon.) It’s an accredited college- with an excellent history and reputation- not to mention they have 90 online majors to choose from. That’s HUGE as you know. And…get this! it’s only $320 per credit hour for the online majors! That is dirt cheap, as you know. They’re highly competitive and were endorsed by Forbes and other various magazines. Check them out!

    http://www.snhu.edu/online-degrees/undergraduate-degrees.aspx

    I’ll be working on getting my B.S. in Sociology.
    I want to travel extensively in my career- that oughtta do the trick. 😉
    (I’m hoping…)

    Anyway, about being in your 20’s. For me, that was a wild, crazy ride. Lots of weed, alcohol, institutions, jail, loss, heartache (yada yada) and then the 30’s hit. I matured (a bit) and was still in the spin cycle- life was craaaazy…

    And then the 40’s hit!
    All 4 of my children are grown (the oldest is almost 24 and the youngest is almost 17.) Now, I’ve FINALLY grown into my “big girl” shoes, am alcohol and drug free (thank God) and have focused on my career, talents, art, and education. I did things “backwards” I guess- but man do I have some stories to tell….heheh… (as you know).

    And hey- it’s alright to feel like you don’t quite know who you are yet. (That’s totally normal.) Because you know what? You’re still getting to know the woman you’re becoming. Embrace her, forgive her, understand and HEAR her. Accept her mistakes and hold her hand along the way. She is you- and you’re a great person. 😉

    xo

Leave a Reply

