Wednesday Weight Loss Journal 3

Hello Friends! Hope you are having a nice morning. We are getting closer to Friday. This fact will never stop feeling good to me!

So I weighed in this morning and I was 193.0 ! yay!

I have not seem the number on my scale go down that low in a while. It means progress is finally beginning to happen.  I had a bad day yesterday but one of two things did not happen. I did not ignore my Elliptical and I did not binge eat. I feel that is why the scale seemed to reward me by going in reverse.

Today I want to mention Soft Drinks/Sodas and their health risks.

soft drinks

As I’ve been researching, I’ve realized a lot of studies have been done that show conflicting outcomes. Going off of WebMD though, which is a website I respect, I found out some interesting information that I would like to share.

Hannah Gardener, PhD,of the University of Miami “presented early results from her ongoing research at a health conference, and was completely unprepared for the media attention it received.The early findings showed a 48% increase in heart attack and stroke risk among daily diet soda drinkers, compared to people who did not drink diet sodas at all or did not drink them every day.” –WebMD Salynn Boyles

Susan Swithers PhD also did a study in rats in which findings suggested the potential that no-calorie sweeteners increase appetite.

Michael Jacobson PhD states ” sugary soft drinks deserve to be singled out in the battle against obesity because they are the biggest single source of empty calories in the American diet.”

Marion Nestle PhD goes on to say ” pediatricians who treat overweight children tell her that many of their patients take in 1,000 to 2,000 calories a day from soft drinks alone.”

toilet bowl

Wikihow‘s article goes on to show us How to Clean a Toilet Bowl With Coke . The acids in the coke break down the stains. Maybe this is just me personally, but I don’t want anything that is strong enough to clean a toilet bowl in my body.

BVO

There is also one very concerning factor that I want to touch on. A chemical called Brominated Vegetable Oil (BVO) is present in several soft drinks and sports drinks in the US including (some flavors) of Powerade and Gatorade, Mountain Dew, Squirt, and Fanta Orange. This chemical is a flame retardant and was once banned by the FDA. It is now allowed in soft drinks again but in a smaller quantity. The point of the chemical is to keep citrus flavoring oils from floating to the top of the soft drinks.

BVO has been linked with

Lowered Fertility

Early Puberty Onset

Impaired Neurological Development

There is a healthier replacement for BVO called natural hydrocolloids which the UK uses.  They do the same exact thing BVO does but are safer. However, it is speculated that due to cost, the US has not turned to replacing BVO with this alternative.

NO WONDER AMERICA IS GETTING FAT

Seriously, if it’s not natural or I don’t understand the ingredients, I am really going to think before putting it in my body!!!

If you would like to read more on BVO please check out the  Natural News article Flame retardant chemical found in US soft drinks.

One thought on “Wednesday Weight Loss Journal 3

  1. Congrats on your weight loss! I’m so proud of you. I think its great that you have discovered the truth about soda. We went cold turkey after little man was born and haven’t looked back. Today I ran for the second time in 10 years. We are signing us up for a 5k for me and a full marathon for my husband in September.

    Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

