College Spring Semester Update

I cannot believe I managed to pass with all A’s this past spring semester. For those that know me, they might roll their eyes because they figured I would. However, this semester has been incredibly challenging. Much more so than previous ones.  I was sick January-March and had to go to the doctor I believe 4-5 times. I even made a trip to the hospital for a reaction to a medication they gave me. The Dr.s had a very hard time figuring out what was in fact wrong with me.  While I was coughing up blood and crying from the sheer misery of that whole ordeal I managed to stay in school and keep my job. My courses were: Intro to Lit, World Lit, Computer, and Stress Management.  I’ve gotten to a point where I realize that very few things about college feel pleasurable (at least for myself).  I will be obtaining my Associates of Science in Social Sciences this summer and I’m telling you, I’ve never worked harder for something in my entire life.  This two-year degree turned into about a 6 year degree. Moving around, being thrown out, being left, etc, is what caused the major delay.  I never gave up though and even when I said I wanted too-I never dropped out.

My name is Jenny and I will be 25 years old when I obtain  my Associates degree. Those words feel really hard to say. However, if I look at it from the standpoint of-I can still get my Masters Degree before I’m 30- things don’t look so bad. A lot of times it’s just the angle at which we are turning our heads to observe our lives that is off. Don’t get me wrong, I have days where I feel completely defeated, behind, and embarrassed.  I will break down on my way home occasionally from the sheer exhaustion of life and trying.  Especially in moments where I witness people getting opportunities that were never awarded to me.

I once read a quote though that said “God would not give us our life if He did not think we could handle it.”  Also, one of Eleanor Roosevelt’s comes to mind:  “Women are like tea bags, they don’t realize how strong they are until they are in hot water.”  Without forgetting Helen Keller’s beautiful quote of “We can’t do everything, but we can do something.”

The most important thing in life is that we TRY. That is anything and everything that should be expected of a person.

My husband told me alst night that I was like the turtle in the race of  The Tortoise and the Hare.  That turtle may have crossed the finish line slowly but the most important thing is that he crossed it.

If anyone is interested in reading the story The Tortoise and the Hare it’s located at  >>>> Childhood Reading

tortoise

Leave a Reply

