Etsy Feature # 2

Today I am going to introduce you to my 2nd Etsy feature! Tracy, from England, is the owner and creator of Chasing The Crayon.  Her work stood out to be because it is incredibly unique and creative.  I personally have a hard time drawing a bird much less a vast assortment of characters! I love that her inspiration comes from fairy tales that many of us grew up on! Tracy’s use of color in the prints is very good.  Though the animals might be complete opposite species in the pictures, they seem to all belong together! Below is an example of a piece of art from Chasing The Crayon and a short interview from the artist! Enjoy ❤

 Bear

When did your shop open:  May 2010

What is the name of your shop AND the story behind the name:  ChasingtheCrayon. I wanted something unusual and spent a while playing around with ways of incorporating the word Crayon into a catchy sounding name. ChasingtheCrayon popped into my head and I was happy.

What do you sell: I sell my illustrations, which I would describe as an assortment of eccentric individuals in a variety of guises; playful, humorous and a touch surreal. They feature on archival prints, in two sizes, A4 and A3, on greeting cards, postcards and badges. I work mainly in pencil and watercolour with a dash of collage. My inspiration comes from stories, poems and very tall tales, from choice finds in second hand bookshops or on colourful flea market stalls.

What item is your best seller: I have two prints that are bestsellers; an illustration that features a gang of Woodland Creatures, a big ol bear, a badger, fox, deer, hare and two tiny birds, all off on a grand day out. The second features a bear, deer and fox hiding up trees.

What inspired you to start selling: I found that although I like working to a commissioned brief, what I really like is creating my own ideas and images. I realised that producing them as prints and cards and selling them meant that this was a viable way to work
What motivates you:  I have to draw, everyday. I couldn’t do anything else.

Any advice that you have for new sellers on Etsy: Be prepared to work hard at your shop. Have great pictures, relevant tags, make treasuries, don’t fret too much during the slow times, most of all..enjoy yourself!

Leave a Reply

