Etsy Feature #5

Let me introduce you to Etsy Feature #5 today!!  Delilah from Cropwell, Alabama has a shop called Delilah Kaye.  She sells handmade rag quilts that come in many different beautiful colors. I’ve personally always been a fan of pastels. I see that she incorporates these and many other colors into the quilts!  They have a Shabby Chic feel to them, which I love. The patterns are really beautiful and perfect for children’s rooms.  Having seen a rag quilt before, I can tell you that they are very sturdy and will most likely last you a long time compared with the average $50 blanket from the store. Delilah Kaye‘s store is not only directed towards children. The rag quilts are also made to fit : Twin, Full, Queen, and King bedding as well. Below is a short interview with Delilah, discussing her shop, tips, and experience. I encourage you to check out her shop Delilah Kaye!

quilt

When did your shop open:
I opened my shop in 2010. I started selling quilts a little over a year ago. I started off selling chicken suits as Halloween costumes.

What is the name of your shop AND the story behind the name:
My shop name is DelilahKaye. It is my given name. I started out as a buyer only and switched over to seller account…the name just stuck 🙂

What do you sell:
I sell handmade rag quilts ranging in size from toddler to a king size. I also still sell the chicken costumes around Halloween.

Which item is your best seller:
So far my king size quilts have been my best seller. The most popular fabric line has been Aviary 2 by Joel Dewberry.

What inspired you to start selling:
I kinda just started selling on a whim. I honestly didn’t think anyone would be interested in buying my items. I have been pleasantly surprised. I absolutely love what I do and I really enjoy making my customers happy.

What motivates you:
My main motivation is my husband and 2 children, Jaimee 4 and Jagger 2. Having this shop has enabled me to be home with my children more. I worked 3rd shift for about 7 years. With this income I was able to take a lower paying job with better hours. I hope for this shop to be my only full time job one day. I’m slowly getting there 🙂

Any advice that you have for new sellers on Etsy:
Do what you love and love what you do. Read up on SEO, pictures, tags, descriptions and Etsy’s policies. Be PATIENT….very patient and don’t give up. It’s hard starting out.

Leave a Reply

