My Job Ends in 4 Days

Because we thought my husband was getting the job in Florida this passed time, I went ahead and put in my 3 week notice. It was the right thing to do because honestly, going to school full time and working full time was getting to be a lot.  My husband did not end up getting the position though. It doesn’t mean he won’t get a different location later on down the line in Florida but he just didn’t get that one.  4 more days left of my childcare job. It’s already been taken over by a friend which I am also thankful for. It will be an easy transition for the children. I always hate it when I work for people that wait until the very last minute to find someone.  More often than not, they don’t find anyone because they have convinced themselves that they will figure out a way for me to stay. Here’s the thing, no matter how much you love one of your employees, it is never a good idea to but excessive pressure on them to stay. It makes them feel suffocated.

choke

Thankfully, for the past 8 months I’ve worked for a very sweet family. They have been supportive of my decisions and never asked me twice about my notice. Had I chosen to walk through it, the door was left wide open to stay. Getting to work for a flexible, complimentary, and understanding family has really changed my perception of what a job should be like.  I’ve realized that it is possible to look forward to going to work every day and that I should not except certain treatment that I have in the past. They really raised the bar ❤ and I’m going to miss them & their children. The father makes fresh fruit and veggie smoothies every morning. Whether he leaves early or not, he always has a smoothie waiting on me!

I’m trying to stay positive and believe that there is something better for me out there. Well, not “better” but more in my field of career I guess is what I’m trying to say.  I have decided to stick with Human Services for now. Columbia College has received all of my transcripts FINALLY yay! Now all I have to do is talk to an advisor so I can get lined up for classes in August. There classes are 2 every 8 weeks.  Therefore, the max you can take is 4 classes in a 16 week period. Very similar to regular college but just split up differently. Even though I feel behind I must stay focused on the fact that I will see that Bachelors before my 30’s.  I hate to say it but I feel like the Bachelors is really the new Associates! I can’t find a job (at least in my field) that would allow a person with just an Associates to work there. 😦

bachelors

Alright well off to bed. Hope everyone’s week is going well so far. I’m following the Bachelorette by the way. Anyone else watching it? If so, lmk who you are routing for!!! I’m routing for Brooks.  🙂

brooks

One thought on “My Job Ends in 4 Days

  1. I agree. The Bachelor’s is definitely the new Associate’s. You can’t get much with an A.S. or A.A. But hey, we’re in this boat together, girlfriend! We can work on our Bachelor’s together! I’ve just filled my schedule in my calender with what classes I’ll need to do to get my semester finished by July 5th. Ugh. It’s an astronomical amount! (That’s what I get for playing hookie though.) Now it’s time to pay the piper. 😉

    I’m still planning on joining you at Columbia, so be sure and tell me how it goes. I believe you’re doing the right thing and don’t worry, another job will open up for you in time. Just keep doing what you’re doing- let your hubby carry the weight for a bit if he can and enjoy some down time. Less money, but hey, you’ve got another semester coming up soon. Give yourself a break. 😉

    Off to bed. I’ll be getting up at 8:00 a.m. to get cracking at the books. That’s like 5 am for me, because I’m a serious late-sleeper. Not anymore…heheh…

    Chat soon. XO

Leave a Reply

