Sylvia Plath

sylviaplath

Yesterday, I got the book  The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath.  Sylvia Plath is probably best known for her book The Bell Jar.  I’ve only read about 20 pages of her unabridged journals but I am already in love with her writing. It’s not even what Sylvia writes about, but the beauty in which she writes it.

My journal consists of: well today sucked because such and such happened.

Her journal consists of: “I may never be happy, but tonight I am content.”

Sylvia Plath used every sense she had to enhance her writing. She describes things so clearly that I can almost see them, smell them, touch them, and/or hear them.

 sylvia

 Sylvia Plath committed suicide on February 11th, 1963 in London, UK.

Before she left, she chose to record both the light and dark days in her life through poems, journals, and transcripts.

I’m eternally grateful for her decision to share her life, as she is the reason I feel less alone today.

4 thoughts on “Sylvia Plath

  1. This is interesting! I read a study in which the researcher evaluated the suicidality of writers…Sylvia Plath among them, and they found that writers who committed suicide used more personal pronouns like “I” and “me” as opposed to “we”.

    Considering that I have had so many struggles with depression myself, It’s funny that only things I’ve read are ABOUT her, and not BY her! Thanks for reminding me of her and sharing how her writing impacts you. I am going to have to read something BY her for sure, now!

  2. Hey Amy! That is fascinating! I didn’t know that about the “I” “me” versus “we” thing! I will have to keep a look out for it. I have no idea what it is with me and reading dark books haha. I mean, I guess I do know. I like to read the works of writers that I can identify with in some way. Having been through a lot, I can truly relate to Sylvia. I feel we would have had an awesome cup of coffee together!

    I would highly recommend that book but I must warn you, it’s quite long 🙂 Not something you could probably rush through. But it is written by her. Her husband and children had a hand in passing on her journal entries and finding an editor to keep it true to point. I think they took clips of her journal writings and put it into the book. I believe it follows her from around age 18 to into her 20s. It said that her last journal that was the 3 years before she committed suicide was destroyed by her husband. Such a shame. I can understand how angry he was at her death. I am curious as to why if he destroyed that one journal, why not the others.

    If you start reading it, let me know what you think! It’s not so much what the journal is about really as it is how it was written. And that the story is coming from HER. 🙂 Thanks for the comment!!

Leave a Reply

