South Carolina Art – Pinterest Inspired

Hello!

So I am posting a lot today guys. Sorry, bear with me! This is probably last photo for today.  I have seen state drawings/paintings on pinterest before and wanted to try making one.  I used a small canvas from Michaels, some paint, mod podge, decorative paper, and a paint brush!! If you want to do it the easy way, just print out the outline of your state (or whichever state you choose). Cut it out. Then trace it with pencil onto the canvas.  Personally, I did mine from eye because I did not have a printer. Other way is PROBABLY EASIER! haha. Once you have your state outline on canvas, use paint to carefully paint around the outside of it. I recommend working from the inside out. Want to make sure you don’t get paint inside your state 🙂 .  I picked up a multi pack of all different sized paint brushes from Michaels for I believe $4.99! Totally worth it! You will notice I have words inside my state and notes inside my moon and star. I used mod podge and decorative paper for this. Basically, while your paint is drying around your state, cut up little squares/shapes of decorative paper.  (You can even use magazine paper!) Once you are SURE your paint on canvas is dry, add a little heart to where you live on your state <3.  Following this, use a paint brush to fill in your state with mod podge. Use cut up paper to fill in your state. This will take some patience. If something isn’t sticking, just add more mod podge. As I was working, I was also painting mod podge OVER the paper to get it to stay down.  It looks white but dries clear so don’t worry!!!!! This is how mine turned out below : )

**And if you see what looks to be an outline of a bigger moon going the other way, you are right! I found out that a crescent moon is very hard to draw symmetrical. I also, according to my husband, had the moon “facing the wrong way.” So me, being my OCD self, tore my original moon off and spent a good hour trying to cut a moon that we both agreed upon looked better. hahaha I do not recommend this unless you have a beer with you . My frustration level was quite high!**

Jenny Art

2 thoughts on “South Carolina Art – Pinterest Inspired

Leave a Reply

