The Pink Box- A True Untold Story

For as far back as I can remember, I’ve had a love for boxes.   Those of yall who travel most likely understand why. Boxes keep things safe, together, and ready to go at any moment.  When I was around 20 years old, I found a very large pink trunk at goodwill.  I felt led to get the box to put my most special things in.  It’s weird but I’ve had premonitions before.  For some reason, I felt that soon I would be thrown out and needing to pack this box before it happened.

When I was 21 years old, I was thrown out.

The large pink trunk was one of the things waiting for me that night on the garage floor when I came home.

IMG_1857

I have kept it with me through several moves, a breakup, and a marriage.

Yet, until tonight, I have not been able to bring myself to open it.

IMG_1858

It was almost like opening a time capsule.

I literally expected some bats to fly out of the box or mice to be in it.

What lay within this box was shocking. Today, what I would consider a survival box would be a toothbrush, change of clothes, important documents, and maybe a few pictures.

Instead, I found my favorite pair of rhinestone jeans & belt from Express, my plastic animal collection from childhood, celebrity tshirts, old jewelry, letters from family members, my grandmothers graduation ring, a few stuffed animals, my book of poems….

IMG_1864

Notice the James Van Der Beek Poster and Teaching Mr. Tingle News article.

IMG_1869

Notice the rhinestone jeans that all the animals are sitting on.  I can’t even remember when those were ever “in” but apparently at some point, they were as Express sold them!

IMG_1871

This jewelry was made up of ying yangs, shark teeth,  and horses….. hmm interesting

I’ve finally filtered through most of the box.  I was a bit sad at how detached I was to a large majority of the items. I know before I was thrown out that I would rather starve than leave those things behind.  It just goes to show how we change as we grow up. I kept the plastic animal set for sentimental reasons and who knows…maybe my kid one day. But most of jewelry and pile of random stuff was either donated or thrown away.  The lesson I have learned tonight is that everything changes, regardless of how tightly we hold onto it. I did find one of my favorite photos of my first dog Glory. She was the best Golden retriever in the world. Hands down. I was probably like three years old below and covered in soap from bathing her .

IMG_1865

Memories never change. I feel the same about that dog as the moments we had together, as the time I put the picture in the box, and tonight pulling it back out of the box.

IMG_1882

Leave a Reply

