Moments I’m Selfish

Ever have those days where you feel like you just can’t do it anymore?  Those thoughts that scream it’s too expensive to eat, have fun, pay rent, buy gas, and just all around live?  I’ve been living off frozen dinners because financially (and emotionally) I’m too drained to make actual “real” food.  Lately, I have felt sorry for myself and angry at my circumstances. I want to be able to change things that I do not have the power too.

Why? Why Me? Why now? When does it stop? It’s not fair. I feel alone. Fuck my life.

No, actually, what isn’t fair is how selfish I am being.

I encourage you to check out this link:

Why This 29 Year Old Is Choosing To Die

Brittany was diagnosed with a deadly form of brain cancer.  Knowing there was no way to get around death, she chose to live each day to her fullest.  Despite stage four brain cancer, she did some amazing traveling and even made plans on a destination to reach before she was to pass away.  Brittany chose to move to Oregon, a state where it is legal to allow terminally ill people to terminate their life early.  The point being to avoid a painful death.

She has found a way to be optimistic.

I have to realize that if people can find a way to truly live in situations like that, then I can find the strength to get through my MOMENTARY problems. It’s a goal of mine to be more thankful. Starting with, I’m truly thankful for my LIFE.

2 thoughts on “Moments I’m Selfish

  1. My aunt had that same type of cancer. I was there when she was diagnosed and dying. If I were diagnosed with a glioblastoma, I don’t know that I’d take Brittany’s step (but I do agree that it should be an option)… but I’m not so sure I’d get treatments. It’s a really tragic form of cancer.

  2. I’m thankful for your life, too! I can relate to the way you described feeling. I’ve felt that way MANY times. It’s really hard. So, I’m glad you posted this and you have us! Sending hugs your way!

Leave a Reply

