DayThreeCreations by Allison

daythreecreations

I found Allison’s shop, DayThreeCreations, to be really unique. It felt more like I was walking through a beautiful field of flowers than I was visiting an Etsy store. Allison makes gorgeous prints of flowers, ferns, and trees in nature. Each print is unique and one of a kind.  If you are looking to add some zen to your house, I would highly recommend checking this store out. These prints could be used in literally any room in a household. They would also make wonderful gifts! I encourage you to stop by DayThreeCreations and read about how it got started in the Etsy interview below.

What is your shop name and why did you choose it? My shop name is Day Three Creations

The name was inspired by Genesis 1:11-13 which says, “Then God said, ‘Let the earth sprout vegetation: plants yielding seed, and fruit trees on the earth bearing fruit after their kind with seed in them’, and it was so. The earth brought forth vegetation, plants yielding seed after their kind, and trees bearing fruit with seed in them, after their kind; and God saw that it was good. There was evening and there was morning, a third day.” Plants were created on day three, hence, Day Three Creations.

When did your shop open? My shop opened October 1st, 2013

What inspired you to focus on nature? At a young age I developed an enthusiasm for both art and science. Later on, I earned a master’s degree in botany, but after starting a family and becoming a home school mom, I wanted to start an at-home business to help with our income. So, my husband and I decided that making scientific pressed botanicals as artwork and opening a shop on Etsy was the perfect job for me. It’s also the perfect blend of my love for nature and art!

Who taught you do do your art?

Making scientifically labeled pressed botanicals (called herbarium specimens) was something I learned from my studies in college. I took a class called “plant identification” and it was taught by Colorado State University herbarium manager, Jennifer Ackerfield. Of course, the purpose of learning how do do this wasn’t for art. The artistic part is something that has partly come naturally to me and partly through trial and error.

Where is your favorite place to collect plants?

Anywhere that’s close by and legal 🙂 The mountains of Colorado near where I grew up is also a lot of fun.

What is one of your shop goals for 2016?

We hope that by mid 2016 our little business will fully support all of our financial needs. My husband hopes to start his PhD next year and we’d love for him to just be able to focus on his studies without having to work a paying job. God has been so good to us. Even if this doesn’t happen, we know we’ll be provided for 🙂

Do you have any advice for new Etsy shop owners?

Try to find your niche market doing something you can be the best at while making a product that people want. When I started, there was only one other established artist on etsy doing something similar, but I’ve been careful not to directly compete with her as my shop has grown. Beyond having a unique and sought after product, research SEO (optimizing your listings so that you can be found within the various search engines). This is SO important – people need to find you! Third, have clear, uncluttered photographs. Fourth, have detailed and informative shop policies and item descriptions. And lastly, go above and beyond for your customers, but never compromise your brand or your family.

My etsy shop is www.daythreecreations.etsy.com

Leave a Reply

